Teams must register their team and submit an initial propostal via the Digital*U website’s registration form by January 1st, 2013. The deadline for the final submission is January 15th, 2013. Further details submission of the final product will be sent to registered teams via email.

Final submissions will be judged equally on originality, feasibility, potential impact, and benefit to UBC, and will involve the following components:

  • a stand-up 10 minute presentation to a panel of judges
  • a tangible demonstration of your idea (prototype and/or detailed storyboard)
  • a 90-second promotional video
  • a 1,000 word (max) written submission

Judging Guidelines

The Digital*U Contest is open to all UBC campuses and communities, including students, alumni, staff, faculty, residents, departments, units, and facilities. A maximum of two (2) entries will be considered from any individual or group. When entries of a substantially similar nature are encountered, precedence will be
given in the order of team registration and proposal submission.

A jury of independent peers and experts will give equal weight to the following five (5) criteria in selecting winning entries:

  • Originality of the mobile idea
  • Feasibility of development
  • Breadth of audience & impact
  • Potential for enhancing UBC
  • Excellence of storytelling

All submissions will become the exclusive property of UBC to display, distribute, develop and apply as it so chooses. Applicants will be invited to become beneficial participants in the further refinement and development of their ideas, should that take place. Applicants may optionally choose to develop their ideas as their own ventures in conjuntion with the UBC MAGIC Lab and/or within UBC programs such as entrepreneurship@UBC.

Judging Committee

Dr. David Vogt

Director, Innovation Strategy, UBC MAGIC Lab
Executive Director, Mobile Muse Network

Brad Lowe

Wireless Accelerator Architect, Wavefront
(formerly) Managing Director, NOKIA Canada Development Centre

Phil Chatterton

Director, Digital Media Technologies, UBC IT

Janeen Alliston

Director, UBC Student Communications Services

Sara Bainbridge

Computer Science Student
Web developer, UBC MAGIC Lab

Special Guest Judges


Dr. Mary Lynn Young

Associate Dean, Communications and Strategy, Faculty of Arts
Associate Professor, School of Journalism


Helen Burt

Associate VP – Research & International
Office of the Vice President Research & International